Office Chair with Pivoting Back Rest

A major office furniture company designs and manufactures a wide range of office chairs, many with pivoting back rests. The back rest used a free fit machined pin retained with an e-clip as the hinge pin. Both the machined pin and the e-clip were installed manually. The installation of the retaining e-clip was time consuming and problematic. Once the pin was installed in the chair it left very little space for the assembler to install the e-clip and ensure that it was seated properly. Failure of a properly secured e-clip on the machined pin resulted in field failure as the main pivot pin would work its way out of the chair. SPIROL worked with the customer to help solve this warrantee problem and enhance their product quality.

In addition to their desire to eliminate the field failures and warrantee claims, the customer indicated that the back rest must freely rotate on the hinge pin. A cost target was provided which was the cost of the machined pin, and the e-clip. The cost of the assembly operation was not provided. However, the current design did not lend itself to being automated, and it was clear that the intricate, multi-step assembly operation was time consuming and prone to human error.
app solid pin office chair
app solid pin office chair incorrect
The back rest used a free fit machined pin retained with an e-clip as the hinge pin
app solid pin office chair correct
The SPIROL Series LP500 Solid Pin is a self-retaining pin
SPIROL recommended the customer replace the two piece hinge pin with a single self-retaining SPIROL LP500 Series Solid Pin. This pin is specifically designed for use in plastic applications and is ideal for plastic hinges with a free-fit requirement. The unique fetter barb design retains the pin in the outer hinge ear and eliminates the possibility of pin walk out. The SPIROL recommendation eliminates the need for an expensive machined pin that required the costly retention groove for the e-clip. Additionally, since the LP500 Series Solid Pin is self-retaining it is installed in a single operation, and does not require a secondary clip. The installation process was easily automated which significantly increased factory productivity.

SPIROL’s solution required minimal changes to the current chair design. It improved the chair’s quality as well as reduced the cost of the components by 25%. Additional (non-quantified) savings were achieved through the reduction in assembly labor. The customer’s payback on this change was 5 months.

Our staff of engineers will review your application needs and work with your design team to recommend the best solution.

Need help finding the right solution?

SPIROL offers complimentary Application Engineering support. We will assist on new designs as well as help resolve issues, and recommend cost savings on existing designs.

办公室座椅,带枢轴靠背架

一家著名办公家具生产商设计和生产大量办公室座椅,很多都带有枢轴靠背架。靠背用一个自由配合的机械加工销和挡圈作为铰链销。机械加工销和挡圈都是手动装配。安装挡圈费时费力。一旦销装到椅子上,空间就非常狭小,操作者不容易将挡圈装到位。如果挡圈没装好,使用过程中销可能从椅子上滑落。SPIROL 和客户一起探讨这个问题的解决方案。

客户除了想避免在使用过程中出问题,同时也指出靠背必需能自由转动。希望能控制机械加工销和挡圈的成本。然而,现有的设计不能实现自动装配,很明显步骤繁复的装配操作耗时又容易造成人为失误。
app solid pin office chair
app solid pin office chair incorrect
枢轴靠背架用自由配合的机械加工销和挡圈作铰链销
app solid pin office chair correct
SPIROL LP500 系列实心销为自固定式销
SPIROL 推荐客户使用 SPIROL 的 LP500 系列实心销替代目前的铰链销。LP500 销用在塑料铰链上非常理想,可实现自由配合。独特的倒刺设计使得销固定在铰链外围,避免了销滑出。SPIROL 的推荐方案不需要用价格昂贵的机械加工销和挡圈。另外,由于 LP500 系列实心销能自行紧固,操作简单,无需使用挡圈。装配过程能实现自动装配,大大增加了工厂生产效率。

SPIROL 的解决方案对现有椅子设计变动小。改进了椅子质量,部件成本降低了大约 25%。装配人工的减少也实现了成本降低。客户对本设计更改的投入回报可在 5 个月内收回。

我们的工程师将分析您的应用目的,和您的设计团队一起推荐最佳方案。

需要帮助找到最佳方案?

SPIROL 提供免费的应用工程支持。我们将协助新设计,帮助解决问题,并提供节省现有设计成本的建议。