Compression Limiters

Metal Compression Limiters provide and maintain joint integrity of a bolted plastic assembly. They are designed to protect the plastic components of an assembly from the compressive loads generated when a bolt is tightened to its recommended value, thereby ensuring that the joint remains intact throughout the life of the product. SPIROL’s Compression Limiters have been designed for easy installation, and provide excellent retention and anti-rotation.

SPIROL offers a comprehensive line of split seam, molded in, oval and solid wall designs to accommodate different compressive loads, positional tolerances and installation methods for bolts ranging in size from M4 to M10 and #8 to 3/8”.

split seam compression limiters
Split Seam Compression Limiters
Split Seam Compression Limiters are produced with flexible diameters to compensate for wide hole tolerances, yet the gap is designed to be less than the material thickness, therefore they will not interlock in the free state. The spring force generated during installation provides self-retention of all Split Seam Compression Limiters in the assembly. SPIROL offers several different Split Seam Limiters to accommodate varying application requirements.

Series CL200 Split Seam (Round): The Series CL200 Compression Limiter is produced from high carbon steel and intended for post-mold installation, and is rated for use up to ISO Class 8.8 / Grade 5 bolts. If the application requires it, the CL200 can be heat treated (made to order) for use up to ISO Class 12.9 / Grade 8 bolts. When applications can be designed around the Series CL200 standard range, this series offers the lowest total installed cost.

Series CL220 Split Seam (Round – Extra Clearance): Similar to the Series CL200 Compression Limiter, the CL220 has slightly different dimensions to provide additional 0.5mm clearance to the inner diameter and to accommodate ArmorGalv®, a zinc alloy thermal diffusion coating that provides up to 1000+ hours of salt spray protection for highly corrosive applications.

Series CL350 Split Seam (Heavy Wall): Similar to the Series CL200 Compression Limiter, the CL350 was designed with a thicker wall for increased bearing surface when clamped against soft mating materials. Generous bolt clearance also aids in positional alignment when multiple Compression Limiters are used in an assembly. The CL350 is rated for use up to ISO Class 10.9 bolts.

Series CL400 Oval Split Seam: Produced from high carbon steel, the oval Series CL400 accommodates 2.25mm extra clearance on one axis, providing additional flexibility over round Compression Limiters for centerline and stack-up tolerancing. Similar to the CL200 and CL350, this split-seam oval Limiter is formed, and it is spring tension that provides positive retention in the hole. The roll-forming manufacturing method yields substantial cost savings over machined products with similar features and characteristics. The CL400 is rated for use up to ISO Class 8.8 bolts.
molded-in compression limiters
Molded-In Compression Limiters (Butted-Seam)
SPIROL offers two different styles of roll formed Compression Limiters designed to be molded into the assembly. The roll forming process typically offers significant cost advantages over products that are produced by machining. Both the CL500 Round and CL460 Oval Molded-In Compression Limiter have a butted seam to prevent plastic from entering into the inner diameter during the molding process.

Series CL460 Oval Molded-In: The CL460 Series is similar to the Series CL400 Oval Split Seam, but produced with a butted-seam so as to prevent plastic from entering the inner diameter during the molding process. This series also accommodates 2.25mm extra clearance on one axis. The CL460 is rated for use up to ISO Class 8.8 bolts.

Series CL500 Molded-In (Round): The Series CL500 is produced from low carbon steel with a butted seam to prevent plastic from entering the inner diameter of the Compression Limiter during the molding process. This also provides an anti-rotation feature once in the assembly. The radial grooves provide axial retention. The CL500 is rated for use up to ISO Class 8.8 / Grade 5 bolts.
solid wall compression limiters
Solid Wall/Knurled Compression Limiters (Mold-In & Press-In)
SPIROL’s Solid Wall Compression Limiters can be either pressed in or molded into the assembly. SPIROL precision machines the Solid Wall Compression Limiters from aluminum and brass with knurls around the outer diameter for reliable retention within the plastic hole.

Series CL600 Aluminum: The Series CL600 is machined from 2024 aluminum as this grade provides the best combination of strength, corrosion resistance, machineability and cost. Additional advantages of aluminum are that it is lightweight (1/3 the weight of brass), it is 40% stronger than brass, and it is lead free. These Limiters can be molded in or pressed into the assembly. The precision machined ID tolerance allows proper seating on the core pin when molding into the assembly. When pressed into the assembly, they are designed with a pilot that allows the part to stand freely in the hole prior to completing the installation. Once installed, the knurl provides excellent retention within the hole. The CL600 is rated for use up to ISO Class 10.9 / Grade 8 bolts.

Series CL601 Headed Aluminum: The CL601 headed aluminum Compression Limiter is the same as the CL600, with the addition of a head. The head provides extra bearing surface on the mating component when a flanged bolt or a washer is not used.

Series CL800 Brass: The Series CL800 is machined from 360 brass. Similar to the CL600, the CL800 can be molded in or pressed into an assembly. The applications for SPIROL’s brass and aluminum Compression Limiters are very similar, however to accommodate the same class/grade bolt, the brass Limiters have a larger wall thickness due to the material’s lower yield strength. While this increases the size and weight of the Limiter as compared to the CL600, the thicker wall does provide more bearing surface for the mating component. The most common reason a designer may choose the CL800 is for those applications that require a shift away from aluminum on the galvanic series chart to make the Limiter more noble. The CL800 is rated for use up to ISO Class 10.9 / Grade 8 bolts.

Series CL801 Headed Brass: The CL801 headed brass Compression Limiters are the same as the CL800 with the addition of a head. Similar to the CL601, the head provides extra bearing surface on the mating component when a flanged bolt or a washer is not used.

Additional Information

Read How to Ensure Bolted Joint Integrity When Using a Compression Limiter in a Plastic Assembly and other White Papers on Compression Limiters.

Review our Application Stories for how SPIROL Engineers and Products have helped provide quality and cost saving solutions for fastening and joining problems.

SPIROL designs and builds Compression Limiter Installation Equipment to install Compression Limiters into your molded plastic assemblies.

Request A Quote







    Files extensions allowed: 3ds, asm, doc, docx, dwf, dwfx, dwg, dxf, gif, iges, igs, ipt, jpg, mov, mp4, mpg, pdf, png, ppt, pptx, prt, sldam, sldasm, slddrw, sldprt, step, stl, stp, tif, xls, xlsx, x_b, x_t



    Current Page Title:
    Current Page URL:

    Need help finding the right solution?

    SPIROL offers complimentary Application Engineering support. We will assist on new designs as well as help resolve issues, and recommend cost savings on existing designs.

限压套

金属压缩限制器提供并保持螺栓塑料组件的接头完整性。它们旨在保护组件的塑料部件免受螺栓拧紧至其建议值时产生的压缩负载的影响,从而确保接头在整个产品生命周期内保持完好无损。 SPIROL 的压缩限制器设计用于轻松安装,并提供出色的保留和防旋转功能。

SPIROL 提供全面的分缝系列、成型式、椭圆形和实心墙设计,以适应从 M4 到 M10 和 #8 到 3/8 的螺栓的不同压缩载荷、位置公差和安装方法。

split seam compression limiters
开缝型限压套
开缝型限压套具有弹性直径,可补偿较大孔公差,但间隙设计小于材料厚度,因此在未固定状态下不会互锁。安装过程中产生的弹力可在装配中实现自我保持。SPIROL 提供几种不同的开缝型限压套,以满足不同的应用要求。

CL 200 系列 开缝型(圆形): CL200 系列限压套由高碳钢制成,用于制模后安装,其额定使用标准为 ISO 8.8 / 5 级螺栓。CL200 最高可用于 ISO 级别 8.8 / 等级 5 螺栓。如果应用需要,CL200 可进行热处理(按订单生产)以最高用于 ISO 级别 12.9 / 等级 8 螺栓。当可以根据 CL200 系列标准范围设计应用时,该系列可提供最低的总安装成本。

CL 220 系列 开缝型 (圆形 - 大间歇): 与 CL200 系列限压套类似,CL220 的尺寸略有不同,可为内径提供额外的间隙,并适合 ArmorGalv®,这是一种锌合金热扩散涂层,可为高腐蚀性应用提供长达 1000 多小时的盐雾保护。

CL350 系列 开缝型 (厚壁): CL350 系列限压套似于 CL200 系列限压套,具有较厚的壁,可提供更大的支撑面(当对软性结合材料紧固时)。宽大的螺栓间隙也便于在装配中使用多个限压套时进行位置调整。CL350 最高可用于 ISO 级别 10.9 螺栓。

CL400 系列椭圆形: 椭圆形的CL400系列由高碳钢制成,最多可在一个轴上容纳 2.25 毫米额外间隙,从而提供比圆形限压套更高的灵活性,以实现中线公差和叠加公差。与 CL200 和 CL350 类似,此椭圆形开缝型限压套是滚压成型的限压套,其弹力可在孔中提供很好的紧固效果。在生产具有类似功能和特性的产品时,滚压成型制造方法可比机械加工方法节省大量成本。CL400 最高可用于 ISO 级别 8.8 螺栓。
molded-in compression limiters
嵌入型限压套(闭合缝)
SPIROL提供两种不同种类的卷制限制套,设计用于模内嵌入到装配中。与机加工生产的产品相比,卷制成型工艺通常具有显著的成本优势。CL500 圆形和 CL460 椭圆形嵌入型限制套均具有闭合的对接缝,可防止塑料在注塑过程中进入内径。

CL 460系列椭圆模内嵌入: CL460系列类似于CL400椭圆形系列,但其设计中具有闭合的接缝,可防止塑料在注塑过程中进入内径。此外,此系列也最多可在一个轴上容纳 2.25 毫米额外间隙。CL460 最高可用于 ISO 级别 8.8 螺栓。

CL 500模内嵌入(圆形): CL500系列由低碳钢制成,其设计中具有闭合的接缝,可防止塑料在注塑过程中进入内径。此外,这还将在组件中提供防转动特性。径向槽提供轴向固定。CL500 最高可用于 ISO 级别 8.8 / 等级 5 螺栓。
solid wall compression limiters
实壁螺纹(嵌入型&压入型)
SPIROL的实壁限制套可以压入或模内嵌入到组件中。SPIROL精密机加工铝和黄铜制成的实壁限制套,外径周围有螺纹,可牢固地固定在塑料孔内。

CL 600系列铝制: CL600系列由2024铝制成,因为此等级的材料可提供强度、耐腐蚀性、可加工性和成本的最佳组合。铝材料的其他优点包括重量轻(黄铜重量的 1/3)、强度高(比黄铜强 40%)和无铅。这些限压套可模内嵌入或压入组件内。在模内嵌入组件时,可通过精密加工 ID 公差在中心销上正确地定位。当压入组装时,将为它们设计一个导杆,使得在完成安装前部件无阻碍地位于孔中。安装后,滚花将在孔中提供出色的保持力。CL600 最高可用于 ISO 级别 10.9 / 等级 8 螺栓。

CL 601系列带头铝制: 带头铝质CL601限压套与CL600类似,但增加了头部。当不使用法兰凸缘螺栓或垫圈时,该头部可在结合部件上提供更多支撑面。

CL 800系列铜制: CL800 系列由 360 黄铜制成,通过机械加工方法制造。CL800 与 CL600 类似,可模内嵌入或压入组件内。SPIROL 的黄铜质限压套和铝质限压套的应用非常相似,但是,为适用于相同级别/等级的螺栓,黄铜质限压套的壁更厚(因为黄铜具有较低的屈服强度)。与 CL600 相比,它增大了限压套的尺寸和重量,但较厚的壁可为结合部件提供更多支撑面。使设计人员可能会选择 CL800 的最常见原因是,这些应用需要不同于电势序图表上的铝的特性,从而使限压套更不易起变化。CL800 最高可用于 ISO 级别 10.9 / 等级 8 螺栓。

CL 801系列带头铜制: 带有头部的黄铜质 CL801 限压套与 CL800 类似,但增加了头部。与 CL601 类似,该头部可在结合部件上提供更多支撑面(当不使用法兰凸缘螺栓或垫圈时)。

需要帮助为您的组件选择合适的紧固件或安装设备吗?

其他信息

查看如何使用限压套保持连接的稳固性和其他关于限压套的白皮书

查看我们的应用案例了解SPIROL如何为面临紧固,连接和/或装配挑战的公司提供质量和成本节约的解决方案。

SPIROL同时为您的限压套应用设计制造带夹具的模后安装设备。

请与我们联系以获得有关限压套应用的免费技术支持

寻求报价







    有效文件格式包括:3ds, asm, doc, docx, dwf, dwfx, dwg, dxf, gif, iges, igs, ipt, jpg, mov, mp4, mpg, pdf, png, ppt, pptx, prt, sldam, sldasm, slddrw, sldprt, step, stl, stp, tif, xls, xlsx, x_b, x_t



    Current Page Title:
    Current Page URL:

    需要帮助找到最佳方案?

    SPIROL 提供免费的应用工程支持。我们将协助新设计,帮助解决问题,并提供节省现有设计成本的建议。