Garage Door Hinges

An OEM was manufacturing a complete assembly of a garage door hinge. They were using press technology to perform the stamping and another to create the butted seam Spacer. This type of manufacturing allowed a production of these Spacers to reach upwards of 150 pieces per minute. For years this method proved to be sufficient and cost effective, but demands grew higher, and decisions needed to be made. New fixtures and necessary maintenance was proposed at over $18,000. An additional press was also being investigated to handle the increased volume. Along with the expense of this new machinery, limited floor space was presenting another obstacle.

At the same time, the customer was approached by SPIROL to present their standard roll formed Spacers. An application engineering review was opened immediately to determine if our “lowest cost solution” would work.
app spacer garage door
app spacers garage door hinges
Upon testing and review, the Spacer for this application was one of SPIROL’s 30,000 standard-off-the-shelf products. By utilizing our proprietary roll forming technology, over 300 Spacers could be made per minute. This was double the customer’s production rate, therefore, the unit price was much lower than their in-house manufactured parts. By switching to our standard Spacers, the customer benefited from readily available stock, extra savings through mass material buys, and no need to invest in capital for the in-house manufacturing of Spacers.

SPIROL’s value originated from the roll forming process where parts are fabricated from strip steel with no scrap or shavings. For over 70 years we have made our Engineering Department available to work with you to find the common goal of lowest installed cost.

Need help finding the right solution?

SPIROL offers complimentary Application Engineering support. We will assist on new designs as well as help resolve issues, and recommend cost savings on existing designs.

车库门铰链

一家 OEM 厂家制造全套车库门铰链组件。他们用挤压技术执行冲压,生成接缝式隔套。这种工艺每分钟能生产隔套 150 件以上。多年来,这种工艺被证实是有效的且成本较低的。但随着需求高涨,需要做出决策。添加新的夹具和必要的维护将超过 18,000 美元。而且还需要额外的挤压机器以满足日益增加的需求。除此之外,有限的空间和新机器的花费也是厂家必需面对的。

同时,SPIROL 正向客户推荐卷制成型的标准隔套。SPIROL 立即做了个工程评估,以分析我方能否实现最低装配成本。
app spacer garage door
app spacers garage door hinges
经过测试和评估,针对该应用的隔套是 SPIROL 30,000 种标准常备产品的其中之一。利用我们专利的卷制成型技术,每分钟能够生产的隔套超过 300 个。这样的生产率是客户的两倍,因此,产品单价也比其自身制造的部件低很多。如果使用 SPIROL 的标准隔套,客户能马上提货、材料成本降低,不需要添加机器自行生产隔套。

SPIROL 的价值源自我们专利的卷制成型生产工艺,我们是将一整块条钢卷制成部件,无废料、无需切割。70 多年来,我们的工程部门一直和客户一起努力商讨能达到最低装配成本的解决方案。

需要帮助找到最佳方案?

SPIROL 提供免费的应用工程支持。我们将协助新设计,帮助解决问题,并提供节省现有设计成本的建议。