Gear to Shaft Assembly for Hydraulic Pump

A leading manufacturer of hydraulic pumps required a method to permanently affix various sized gears to shafts. The gears were bronze, and the shafts were 400 series stainless steel. After press fitting the gears into position, they would drill a hole partially through the assembly, install a heavy duty SPIROL® Coiled Spring Pin, and stake the entrance point for maximum security. Prior to SPIROL's involvement, this process was done manually using 3 different stations. SPIROL offered to consolidate all operations into one complete installation machine. Since the customer offered many different gear/shaft assembly sizes, the machine needed to be versatile enough to accommodate the 11 existing assemblies, as well as be able to handle new variations as designed. Tooling changeover had to be quick and simple, with little to no machine adjustment. The cycle time had to be less than a minute, and drill bits were expected to last at least 500 cycles.
app auto gear shaft hydraulic pump
Gear/shaft assemblies and Coiled Spring Pins
app auto gear shaft model dp
Standard Model CR Pin Insertion machine on left
model dp
Model DP enhanced work station
The SPIROL Model DP Drilling and Pinning Machine consists of a standard Model CR Pin Insertion machine, an automatic, production quality, high-precision drilling unit, and a precision air-powered linear slide unit to move the assemblies between the drill unit and installation/staking station. Machine features include:

• Recirculating flood coolant in the drilling operation for temperature control and chip removal
• Automatic clamping/part holding fixture unit
• Easily interchangeable tooling to accommodate 11 different assemblies
• Common drilling and pin insertion elevation between all assemblies
• Pin presence sensing to verify a pin was installed in the assembly
• Allen Bradley Panel View™ Human Machine Interface for programming and control of all machine functions
• Full perimeter guarding with safety interlocked sliding doors
• Heavy Duty SPIROL Machine Table with adjustable feet

SPIROL's solution provides a machine cycle time of 45 seconds, drill bits yield 600 plus parts, and tooling change-over takes less than 15 minutes between assemblies. This machine doubled the previous production output, and provided a payback of less than 12 months.

All SPIROL Standard Installation Machines can be similarly enhanced to meet the needs of your specific application.

Need help finding the right solution?

SPIROL offers complimentary Application Engineering support. We will assist on new designs as well as help resolve issues, and recommend cost savings on existing designs.

轴传动装置用于液压泵

在轴上永久性安装各种尺寸齿轮需要一流的液压泵制造商才能很好地完成。齿轮是青铜材质,而轴是 400 系列不锈钢。将齿轮紧配到位后,制造商会在传动装置局部钻一个孔,安装一个重载 SPIROL® 卷制弹性圆柱销,并在入口位置进行铆合以保证最高安全性。在 SPIROL 进入之前,这个过程是利用三个独立工作站手工完成的。SPIROL 将所有操作合并到一台完整的装配机中。由于客户提出了各种不同的齿轮/轴装配尺寸要求,该机器不仅需要将现有的 11 种装配要求纳入其中,同时还要能够按设计要求处理各种新变化。工具换装必须简单快捷,而且换装后几乎不需要调整机器。周期时间必须在一分钟以内,而换装一次钻头至少应工作 500 个周期。
app auto gear shaft hydraulic pump
app auto gear shaft model dp
装配件微型销插入部位特写。
model dp
SPIROL DP 增强型能够满足清洁的室内环境要求。
SPIROL DP型钻孔和压销机 型机由一台 CR 标准型圆柱销插入机、自动控制、生产质量、高精度钻孔设备和一个精确的气动线性滑动设备(在钻孔设备和装配/铆合工作站之间移动装配件)组成。机器功能包括:

• 钻孔操作采用循环液流冷却进行温度控制和碎片清除
• 自动压缩/局部固定定位夹具设备
• 简便互换式工具系统可容纳 11 种不同装配件
• 所有装配之间通用的钻孔和圆柱销插入标高
• 销插入感应功能可验证是否已在装配件中安装了销
• Allen Bradley Panel View™ 人机界面用于机器所有功能的编程和控制
• 采用安全互锁滑动门的全周边保护
• 可调脚式重载 SPIROL 机台

SPIROL 解决方案提供的机器周期时间为 45 秒,钻头屈服在 600 多件次,而装配之间工具换装时间在 15 分钟以内。该机器成倍提高了原先的生产输出量,而投资回报在 12 个月以内 。

所有的 SPIROL 标准装配机器都同样可以改进以更好地满足您特殊的应用需求。

需要帮助找到最佳方案?

SPIROL 提供免费的应用工程支持。我们将协助新设计,帮助解决问题,并提供节省现有设计成本的建议。