Retaining Pin in Surgical Instrument

As one of the leading manufacturers of miniature pins (pins with a diameter less than 1.5mm), SPIROL has developed a high level of expertise installing these pins automatically. Manual installation of miniature pins usually involves the use of a magnifying glass, very small tools, and a dextrous and patient technician. The process is tedious and time consuming and the scrap rate often exceeds 10% due to part damage from unsuccessful installation attempts.

SPIROL was approached by a surgical tool manufacturer to review an assembly that required a 0.8mm (.031”) diameter stainless steel Solid Pin to affix a nylon cylinder to a shaft. The assembly consisted of an outer tube, inside of which was a smaller hollow shaft, and inside that was a solid rod. At installation, the pin had to negotiate from one side of the cylinder to the other, through all components of the assembly. The Solid Pin was a specialty item with an extremely tight OD tolerance, and the cylindrical part required a tightly toleranced hole to allow for pin installation and retention. The internal components were designed to allow clearance for the pin. SPIROL’s challenge was to provide an installation solution that eliminated manual handling of the pin by the Operator while providing repeatable, quality installations.
app auto retaining pin surgical
SPIROL Model PR enhanced to meet clean room requirements.
app auto retaining pin surgical
Close up of assembly where miniature pin is inserted.
light duty coiled pin
SPIROL Light Duty Coiled Spring Pin
Based on the application requirements, SPIROL Engineering recommended a Model PR semi-automatic pin insertion machine. A highly polished, continuously welded, precisely tooled vibratory feed bowl was provided to deliver the pins to the retractable insertion head one at a time and place them into "ready position" for installation. Understanding the medical device industry’s cleanliness requirements, the insertion head and all components that contact the pin and/or assembly were made of 300 series stainless steel or electroless nickel plated tool steel. Exhaust from the pneumatic cylinders passed through a coalescing filter to remove particulates. These design enhancements allow use of this machine in a clean room environment.

Additionally, with the Model PR machine, the operator does not have to touch the miniature pins in any way! A specially designed fixture nest was provided which allows the components to be pre-assembled and placed into the nest ensuring proper alignment of the component holes throughout the entire assembly process. Upon machine activation, the insertion head advances close to the hole to be pinned, installs the pin, retracts and resets.

The tedious nature of the previous assembly process was eliminated, and the efficiency has more than tripled. The scrap rate at installation is near zero.

In keeping with SPIROL’s objective to provide the best possible value, SPIROL’s Applications Engineers carefully reviewed the entire assembly and offered a Coiled Spring Pin as an alternative to the Solid Pin. The Solid Pin was extremely expensive, had a long lead time, and required the hole tolerances on mating parts to be tightly controlled. (This made the mating parts expensive to produce as well.) The Coiled Pin was approximately 90% less expensive than the Solid Pin and allowed a much broader tolerance range in the holes - further reducing the cost of the assembly. The smooth, swaged chamfers allow easier entrance of the pin into the hole, eliminating installation scrap relating to pin misalignment.

Need help finding the right solution?

SPIROL offers complimentary Application Engineering support. We will assist on new designs as well as help resolve issues, and recommend cost savings on existing designs.

外科器械中的止动圆柱销

作为微型圆柱销(销直径小于 1.5mm)的一家领先制造商,SPIROL 已经研制出自动安装这些圆柱销的高级专用机。手动装配微型圆柱销通常会涉及放大镜和超小型工具的使用,还需要技术人员十分灵巧和富有耐心。装配过程十分乏味和耗时,而且由于装配尝试不成功而造成的零件损坏率通常在 10% 以上。

曾有一家外科工具制造商到访 SPIROL 考查我们的装配工艺,要求是用 0.8mm (.031”) 直径的不锈钢实心圆柱销将尼龙缸安装到轴上。该装配件由外管、空心轴和实心杆组成,外管套在稍小的空心轴上,而空心轴内部是实心杆。装配时,该销必须穿过所有的装配零件从缸的一端贯通到另一端。实心圆柱销是专用件,具有超紧密配合 OD 公差,而该圆柱零件需要紧密公差配合的孔才能够进行圆柱销的装配和固定。内部零件在设计上允许圆柱销存在间隙。SPIROL 的挑战是提供该销的装配解决方案,既要免除操作员手动处理,又要提供可重复的优质装配。
app auto retaining pin surgical
SPIROL PR 增强型能够满足清洁的室内环境要求。
app auto retaining pin surgical
装配件微型销插入部位特写。
light duty coiled pin
轻型荷载
根据这种应用要求,SPIROL 工程部推荐使用 PR 型半自动圆柱销插入机。使用高光洁度、精密加工的振动送料机将销输送到伸缩式插入头(一次输送一个),并将其放入“就绪位置”进行装配。考虑到医疗设备产业的清洁度要求,插入头及所有与销和/或装配件有接触的零部件全部采用 300 系列不锈钢制造。气缸废气通过凝聚式过滤器滤除尘粒。这些增强设计使得此机器能够在清洁的室内环境中使用。

另外,利用 PR 型机器,操作员根本不需要以任何方式接触微型圆柱销!利用配备的专用定位夹具槽,允许零部件进行预装配,并将其放入槽中,从而确保在整个装配过程中构件孔正确对齐。机器启动后,插入头提前靠近压销孔,安装圆柱销,然后缩回并复位。

原装配过程的乏味沉闷被消除了,并且效率提高了三倍以上。装配时的损坏率几乎为零。

SPIROL 的目标是提供最佳方案,SPIROL 的应用工程师为此仔细检查了整个装配过程,并提出了将卷制弹性圆柱销作为实心圆柱销的备选方案。实心圆柱销成本非常高,需要很长的前置时间,而且紧密配合件上的孔公差要求精确控制。 (这使得紧密配合件生产成本同样十分高。)卷制销与实心销相比,能够降低大约 90% 的成本,并且容许的孔公差范围更加宽松 - 进一步降低了装配件的成本。 平滑的锻造倒角能够让销更加容易进入孔中,从而消除与销未对齐相关的装配损坏。

需要帮助找到最佳方案?

SPIROL 提供免费的应用工程支持。我们将协助新设计,帮助解决问题,并提供节省现有设计成本的建议。