Oil Pump Assembly

Customer is using two solid wall ground dowels in the assembly of an oil pump. The bushings are used to align the two side covers to the body of the pump. An M6 bolt then passes through the ID of the bushing to fasten the housings, holding the plate in the middle of the assembly. The current design is a solid-wall, hollow, ground dowel. The use of a ground dowel requires a precise, accurate hole. Due to the tight OD tolerance, the hole must be reamed to the proper dimension – this type of secondary operation adds cost to the assembly. If the OD of the dowel bushing is not per print, i.e. too large, the installation force will increase significantly. This could either destroy the oil pump housing or even cause a great deal of damage to the insertion machine. If the dowel bushing is too small, the dowel will simply fall through the housing. In a worse case scenario, the dowel bushing keeps the assembly together, the pump is assembled on a vehicle, and due to “play” in the bushing and housing, the oil pump fails.
app bushing oil pump housing
app bushing oil pump housing exploded view
dowel bushing
SPIROL Dowel Bushings
SPIROL Engineering recommended a standard BUSH M6 x 10 BK DB100. This would be the lowest installed cost component. SPIROL engineers also gave the customer an option of using a bushing that was designed around their current hole size. The customer decided it was with in their best interest to change their current hole size to accommodate an “off the shelf” standard dowel bushing.

The dowel that was originally used in this application was roughly $.055 per piece – SPIROL's recommended standard Dowel Bushing was priced at $.028 per piece. In this case, this was a savings of $30,000 per year. We were also able to eliminate a step in the “hole preparation process” which resulted in additional savings. By using a SPIROL Dowel Bushing, the customer does not require a tight hole tolerance as the dowel bushing acts as a spring and will conform to the hole size. The OD of the bushing will take the shape of the hole as long as 60% of the length of the dowel is inserted into the main component. The customer was able to take a significant amount of cost out of his assembly by simply changing a hole size.

Need help finding the right solution?

SPIROL offers complimentary Application Engineering support. We will assist on new designs as well as help resolve issues, and recommend cost savings on existing designs.

油泵总成

客户目前的油泵总成中用了两个实心壁定位圆柱销。定位衬套用于把两片外壳定位到泵壳体上。然后用 M6 螺栓穿过衬套内径把壳体紧固起来,将板固定在总成中间。现有设计是实心壁、中空的定位圆柱销。定位圆柱销要求孔要非常精确。由于外径公差紧密,必须扩孔达到准确的尺寸,这个过程也给部件增加了额外的成本。如果外径不是按照技术图纸规定,例如外径过大,装配用力将大大增大。这也可能破坏油泵壳或损坏装配机器。如果衬套太小,衬套就会掉入壳体内。更为严重的是,衬套是连接部件的,泵是装配在汽车上的,如果衬套和壳体的是活动的话,会导致油泵失效。
app bushing oil pump housing
app bushing oil pump housing exploded view
dowel bushing
SPIROL定位套
SPIROL 的工程师推荐使用标准的 M6 * 10 BK DB100 标准衬套。因为这样装配成本最低。SPIROL 的工程师也给客户另一个备选方案,就是根据他们目前的孔径定制衬套。客户还是决定更改当前的孔尺寸,使用现成的标准定位衬套,以获得最佳利益。

客户以前用的定位圆柱销大约是每个 0.055 美分,SPIROL 推荐用标准的定位衬套,成本是每个 0.028 美分。这样的话,每年能给客户节约 30,000 美元。我们也不需要对孔额外加工,这也能节省成本。通过使用 SPIROL 的定位衬套,客户不需要孔公差很准确,因为定位衬套本身有弹性,和孔贴合度好。只要衬套三分之二的长度装入部件中,衬套的外壁和孔就能很好贴合,客户仅仅只更改了孔径就节省了大量成本。

需要帮助找到最佳方案?

SPIROL 提供免费的应用工程支持。我们将协助新设计,帮助解决问题,并提供节省现有设计成本的建议。