Rifle Sights

A manufacturer of after-market Tactical Rifle Sights had been manually assembling a folding rear sight. The sight contained two Solid Dowel Pins, and a Slotted Spring Pin. The Solid Pins were manually installed in a multistage process. Due to manufacturing tolerances, the pins were occasionally loose, requiring an additional operation to ensure retention. The Slotted Pin was also manually installed. This process required the operator to pre-compress a spring with a clamp, then "start" the Slotted Pin into the hole. The sub-assembly was then placed under a manual press to complete the installation. The pin was not easy to handle due to its small diameter resulting in a slow, tedious process. Any misalignment of the pin resulted in damage to the assembly, therefore alignment and proper pin location was critical.
app coiled pin solid pin automation rifle site
Rifle Sight
app coiled pin solid pin automation rifle site fixture
Coiled Pin, Helical Grooved Pins, and fixture for the Coiled Pin installation.
model pr model crd
Model PR for the Coiled Pin installation, Model CRD for the simultaneous installation of the two Helical Grooved Pins (shown without guard).
SPIROL engineers recommended the use of Helical Grooved Pins in place of the Solid Dowel Pins to absorb hole tolerances and provide positive retention, and a Model CRD Automatic Dual Pin Insertion Machine to install the pins. The operator easily loads the sight into a fixture nest, and activates the machine. The inserter advances, simultaneously installs both Helical Grooved Pins, retracts and resets. This machine/pin combo has improved production four-fold, and virtually eliminated all scrap.

The customer also replaced the Slotted Pin with an automation-friendly Coiled Spring Pin and uses a Model PR Automatic Pin Inserter with a custom designed fixture to ensure trouble free pin installation. The operator simply places the assembly into the fixture, locates the fixture onto a post, and then gently pushes the assembly forward to compress the spring. The assembly then moves over an alignment pin, and the machine is activated to automatically install the Coiled Pin.

Our staff of engineers will review your application needs and work with your design team to recommend the best solution.

Need help finding the right solution?

SPIROL offers complimentary Application Engineering support. We will assist on new designs as well as help resolve issues, and recommend cost savings on existing designs.

来福枪瞄准器

一家生产战术性来福枪瞄准器的售后市场制造商一直是手动装配折叠式后瞄准器,瞄准器用到两个实心定位销,一个直槽弹性圆柱销。实心销通过一个多阶段流程手动安装。由于制造公差限制,销偶尔会松掉,有时需要重复装配以保证紧固效果。直槽弹性圆柱销也是手动装配,该流程要求操作者先用钳子预先压紧弹簧,再把直槽弹性圆柱销装到孔内,然后再手动按住完成整个装配。由于销直径小,拿起来非常不方便,因此装配过程冗长乏味。如果装配过程中孔没对准极易破坏装配件,因此保持孔同心及销的精确位置非常重要。
app coiled pin solid pin automation rifle site
来福枪瞄准器
app coiled pin solid pin automation rifle site fixture
用于卷制弹性圆柱销装配的来福枪瞄准器、卷制弹性圆柱销、螺旋沟槽销和夹具。
model pr model crd
用于卷制弹性圆柱销装配的 PR 型,用于同步装配两颗螺旋沟槽销的 CRD 型(显示无护套)。
SPIROL 的工程师推荐用螺旋沟槽销替代实心定位销,螺旋沟槽销能吸收孔公差和提供合适的紧固效果,并采用 CRD 型二元自动插销机装配销。操作者可轻松将瞄准器装入固定装置的嵌入位置,然后启动机器。插销机向前推进,同时装配两颗螺旋沟槽销,再撤回并复位。该机器/销组合件将生产率提升了四倍,几乎没有报废情况。

客户把直槽弹性圆柱销也换成了自动友好性的卷制弹性圆柱销,并用 PR 型自动插销机和定制的夹具确保顺利完成销装配。操作者只需把组件放入夹具,再将夹具放到后部位置,然后轻推组件向前挤压弹簧,组件滑过定位圆柱销,机器启动自动完成装配卷制弹性圆柱销。

我们的工程师会评估您的应用需求,和您的设计团队一起推荐最佳方案。

需要帮助找到最佳方案?

SPIROL 提供免费的应用工程支持。我们将协助新设计,帮助解决问题,并提供节省现有设计成本的建议。