Alignment for Clutch Plate in Heavy Equipment

Alignment of components is critical in various powertrain and hydraulic systems. Traditionally Solid OD Ground Dowels have been used to provide the necessary alignment. However, these Ground Dowels require precision machined holes to ensure adequate interference between the Dowel and hole for retention and to keep the insertion force within a practical limit. Precision honing the holes, as compared to simply drilling the holes, results in substantially higher manufacturing costs.

In a large 36” diameter clutch plate there were (24) holes containing a series of (12) ø16mm Solid Ground Dowels and (12) ø10mm size bolts in an alternating pattern around the OD of the plate.
app bushing clutch plate alignment flywheel
Precision honing of holes for solid ground dowels results in higher manufacturing cost
app bushing clutch plate alignment
36" diameter clutch plate
dowel bushing
SPIROL Dowel Bushings improve product quality and reduce manufacturing cost
In an effort to offer cost reductions while maintaining the required alignment, SPIROL recommended that the customer eliminate the (12) precision machined holes that were previously used for the Solid OD Ground Dowels. The remaining (12) holes were simply drilled to the recommended hole size for SPIROL’s standard ø10mm DB100 Dowel Bushing.

The OD of the Dowel Bushing compresses as it is installed into a hole. The spring action of the bushing’s material provides the radial force that keeps it in the hole once installed.

The Dowel Bushing has a hollow ID which allows the bolt to pass through the inside of the bushing after it has been installed thus eliminating the need for separate holes for the Alignment Dowels and bolts. In addition to eliminating (12) of the holes in the assembly, the ability of the Dowel Bushing to conform to a wider tolerance enabled the holes to be opened up from a total manufacturing tolerance of ø0.013mm to ø0.13mm — 10 times wider than the previous tolerance.


Even though the Dowel Bushing is flexible, it has enough rigidity to maintain the required alignment for the assembly. The overall positioning of the clutch plate using the Dowel Bushings performed in the exact same manner as it did with the Solid Ground Dowels which was proven through testing of over 60,000 cycles.

The customer predicted that they saved over $0.21 per dowel, and an additional $0.15 per hole. In total — the customer saved over $4.32 per clutch plate.

Similar solutions have been provided in hydraulic pump applications.

Need help finding the right solution?

SPIROL offers complimentary Application Engineering support. We will assist on new designs as well as help resolve issues, and recommend cost savings on existing designs.

重型机械上离合器压盘的定位

在各种动力和液压系统上定位部件非常重要。传统做法是用实心定位销来定位。然而,实心定位销要求孔的公差非常严格,以确保销和孔达到合适的干涉配合,保持插入力在一定范围内。由于精加工孔成本高,和简单钻孔相比,制造成本高出很多。

在直径达 36 英寸的离合器压盘上,有 (24) 个孔,包括 (12) 个直径为 16 毫米的实心定位销的孔,和 (12) 个直径为 10 毫米的螺栓孔,以相互交叉的方式分布在压盘外径周围。
app bushing clutch plate alignment flywheel
实心销定位需要对孔进行精确加工,因而制造成本高
app bushing clutch plate alignment
直径为 36 英寸的离合器压盘
dowel bushing
SPIROL 的定位衬套改进了产品品质,降低了制造成本
为了在保证定位的情况下达到降低成本的目的,SPIROL 推荐客户不要用 (12) 个实心定位销。余下的 (12) 个孔只需钻孔到推荐的孔径,就可以使用 SPIROL DB100 系列 10 毫米的标准定位衬套。

定位衬套的外径在装入孔时会收缩。安装完成后,衬套材料的弹性作用产生径向力使得它在孔中能固定住。

定位衬套中间是空心的,螺栓可以装在衬套内,因此无需为对准定位圆柱销和螺栓钻孔。除了不需要钻 (12) 个孔外,定位衬套还能用在公差较大的孔中,孔的制造公差范围为 0.013 毫米 - 0.13 毫米,比之前的孔公差范围大了 10 倍。

定位衬套弹性好,而且也有足够的强度起到定位作用。整个离合器压盘的定位用上了定位衬套,达到的效果和实心定位销相同,并已经过六万次测试。

客户预测他们在每个定位衬套上节省了 0.21 美元成本,孔加工成本上节省了 0.15 美元。总计 — 客户在每个离合器压盘上节省了 4.32 美元。

这个解决方案也可以应用在液压泵上。

需要帮助找到最佳方案?

SPIROL 提供免费的应用工程支持。我们将协助新设计,帮助解决问题,并提供节省现有设计成本的建议。