Bar Mounted Media/Map Rack

The customer was using a thread cutting screw to fasten a map rack to the safety bar of a ski lift. The application requires seasonal removal and the repeated cycle of installation and removal led to failure of the plastic boss. The customer approached SPIROL for assistance in determining the best alternative solution that would provide a reusable thread. SPIROL Engineering evaluated the customers assembly and identified a number of issues which had led to the reported failures, as well as a solution.
app inserts bar mounted rack
Map rack for safety bar of a ski lift
app insert bar mounted rack close up
Thread cutting screw fastened to HDPE
app inserts bar mounted rack insert
SPIROL Series 30 insert designed to maximize torque and pull out values
Thread cutting fasteners are only intended to be used once. Repeated installation and removal causes excessive hole wear and premature failure. Though this is the primary cause of failure, other conditions also contributed. The component host material was HDPE, or high density polyethylene plastic. This material retains good flexibility and impact resistance in cold weather though it is prone to a condition known as creep. Creep is a material’s tendency to move opposite the direction of induced stress until that stress is relieved. For this reason, much of the retention achieved when directly threading a fastener into this material is lost over time. The best solution to this problem is an insert which has been installed in the mold or post-mold heat installed. Because the host material is fluid in the mold, or returned to a fluid state in post-mold heat installation, there is no residual stress about the circumference of the insert. Further, the integrity of any fastener/plastic joint is the product of the host material’s strength. For this reason, the increase in diameter of the insert when compared to the threaded fastener equates to a much greater volume of host material trapped within the inserts external features. This would contribute to a dramatic increase in performance. The remaining benefit of a brass insert is the elimination of wear between the fastener thread and plastic. As all movement of the fastener occurs within the insert, the interface between the insert and host material remains unaffected by repeated assembly/disassembly.

In addition to noting the problems associated with the self-threading fastener, SPIROL Engineering observed that the customer’s design would place the insert in jackout. Jackout is a condition that occurs when an insert is subject to rotational torque and pulled into a void simultaneously. This lends inordinate mechanical advantage to the fastener which can lead to premature failure of an insert. This condition existed as the result of clearance between the bracket and insert face. A headed insert was chosen as it reduced the clearance between bracket and insert thus confining applied force to rotational torque.

SPIROL replaced the problematic self-threading screw with a molded-in high performance INS 30. This solution eliminated the effect of creep on long term performance, provided a reusable thread, and reduced the clearance between the bracket and insert face thus eliminating a jackout condition. The result is an assembly which can be assembled and disassembled as often as the customer requires while providing much greater performance.

Need help finding the right solution?

SPIROL offers complimentary Application Engineering support. We will assist on new designs as well as help resolve issues, and recommend cost savings on existing designs.

安全杆上的地图架

客户目前使用螺纹切削螺钉把地图架紧固到滑雪场缆车的安全杆上。该应用中地图架需要季节性的移掉和重复安装,反复移掉和安装导致孔壁失效。客户希望 SPIROL 帮助提供更好的解决方案,要求螺纹能重复使用。SPIROL 工程师评估了客户的装配并且指出导致该问题的系列原因,同时提出解决方案。

app inserts bar mounted rack
滑雪场缆车安全杆上的地图架
app insert bar mounted rack close up
固定在 HDPE 上的螺纹切削螺钉
app inserts bar mounted rack insert
SPIROL 30 系列嵌件的设计利于使扭矩和拉力值最大化
螺纹切削紧固件原则上只能使用一次。重复的安装和移除使孔壁过度摩擦而过早失效。这是出现问题的主要原因,但也有其它因素。地图架基质材料为 HDPE 或高密度聚乙烯塑料。虽然它容易蠕变,但这个材料弹性很好,在寒冷天气里影响阻力。蠕变即材料倾向于朝感应应力相反的方向改变,直至应力消除。正因为这样,随着时间的推移,紧固的效果就达不到了。最佳解决方案是已在模具中装配的嵌件或在注塑后加热装配的嵌件。因为模具中的基质材料是流体或者在加热装配过程中能够保持流体的状态,嵌件周围没有残余压力。另外,紧固件或塑胶件接合处的完整性是基质材料强度的产物。出于这个原因,与螺纹紧固件相比,嵌件直径的增加增加量等同于嵌件基质材料的增加量。这将有助于大幅度提高性能。黄铜螺母的另外的好处是消除了紧固件螺纹和塑料的摩擦。因为紧固件所有的活动都发生在嵌件内,即使重复组装,嵌件和基质材料的接合面仍然不受影响。

除了注意到螺纹紧固件的相关问题,SPIROL 工程师还注意到客户的设计可能使嵌件抬起。在嵌件受到旋转扭矩的同时被拉入孔中时会发生这种情况。这就给紧固件带来了无限制的机械效益,导致嵌件过早失效。这种现象存在于托架与嵌件表面之间有空隙的情况下。选择带头嵌件是因为它能减少托架与嵌件之间的空隙,因而限制了对旋转扭矩的作用力。

SPIROL 工程师用 INS 30 注塑型高性能螺钉代替有问题的螺纹螺钉。这样就消除了蠕变对长期性能的影响,螺纹可反复使用,减少了托架与嵌件表面之间的空隙,因而避免了抬起现象。现在,地图架可以根据客户需要重复组装和拆卸,同时性能更佳。

需要帮助找到最佳方案?

SPIROL 提供免费的应用工程支持。我们将协助新设计,帮助解决问题,并提供节省现有设计成本的建议。