Automotive Door Handle

The customer was using a staked tubular rivet as a hinge pin for the handle and pawl in an automotive door handle application. The customer was experiencing problems with BSR (buzz, squeak and rattle) with the tubular rivet. They tried staking the rivet tighter to the assembly, however this caused cracking of the plastic boss. The customer approached SPIROL for a recommendation on a fastener that would eliminate the BSR problems that they were experiencing, as well as explore the possibility of a cost savings.
app coiled pin automotive door handle
app coiled pin automotive door handle close up
coiled pins
SPIROL Coiled Spring Pins
SPIROL investigated use of both a Coiled Spring Pin and a Knurled Solid Pin. After much review, it was decided that the inherent design of the Coiled Pin would provide many benefits to the customer in this plastic door handle.

The Coiled Spring Pin is ideal for plastic applications because as it is inserted, the pin flexes and conforms to the host material and hole. This results in less damage to the host components than other non-flexible fasteners. In addition, since the Coiled Pin retains itself in the hole, secondary operations such as staking are not necessary. This elimination of the staking also reduces the likelihood for component damage. The spring-like action of the coils prevents component damage by absorbing the loads imparted to the assembly during and after installation.

Need help finding the right solution?

SPIROL offers complimentary Application Engineering support. We will assist on new designs as well as help resolve issues, and recommend cost savings on existing designs.

汽车门把手

在汽车门把手应用中,客户使用用桩固定的空心铆钉作为铰链销用在汽车门把手和棘爪上。使用空心铆钉遇到的问题就是会出现蜂鸣声、吱嘎声、咔嗒声等异响。他们尽量使铆钉铆紧些,然而这样又会引起孔壁的爆裂。客户与 SPIROL 联系,要求我们推荐一种能消除异响的紧固件,同时探讨节约成本的可能性。
app coiled pin automotive door handle
app coiled pin automotive door handle close up
coiled pins
卷制弹性圆柱销
SPIROL 调查了卷制弹性圆柱销和滚花销的使用情况。经过大量审查,确定卷制弹性圆柱销的独特设计可以为客户在塑料门把手应用中提供许多优点。

卷制弹性圆柱销是塑料制品应用的理想选择,因为在插入后,销会收缩,然后适应基质材料和孔。与其它没有柔韧性的紧固件相比,卷制弹性圆柱销对主要部件造成的损伤更小。另外,卷制弹性圆柱销在孔内能自行紧固住,不需要再次铆合。不需要铆合的同时也就减少了部件损坏的可能性。卷制弹性圆柱销的弹性动作吸收了装配过程中和装配后传导到部件的荷载,避免了部件损坏。

需要帮助找到最佳方案?

SPIROL 提供免费的应用工程支持。我们将协助新设计,帮助解决问题,并提供节省现有设计成本的建议。