Automotive Intake Manifold Flow Control Valve

An intake manifold had been designed with four flow control valves and a stop, each affixed to a common shaft with two Slotted Pins. The valves are cast magnesium and the stop is plastic. The customer complained of poor efficiency due to nesting and interlocking of pins in their feed equipment. Quality issues had also been tied to the Slotted Pin. These issues consisted of high insertion force, skiving, cracking of the host, and increased total run-out over the shafts length. A solution was required that would improve efficiency, reduce or eliminate the occurrence of damage to the host materials, and lower insertion force to prevent deflection in the shaft.


app coiled pin automotive intake manifold flow control valve
app coiled pin automotive intake manifold flow control valve close up
All spring pins are designed with a pre-installed diameter larger than the intended hole. Pins are sized to the hole diameter during installation and the resultant interference provides retention. Slotted pins are generally considered a ‘heavy duty’ solution manufactured with thick, rigid walls. It is critical that the strength and flexibility of a pin be properly matched to the host material or damage to the host material can result. Soft materials such as magnesium and plastic require a solution with greater flexibility to reduce insertion force and limit stress. Slotted Pins are manufactured with stamped chamfers – a process that is inferior to the swaging or coining operation used to form a Coiled Spring Pin’s chamfers. Coiled Spring Pin chamfers are concentric and smoothly blend into the diameter of the pin. This prevents the skiving and alignment problems commonly associated with Slotted Pins. Because Coiled Spring Pins have a seam rather than open gap they cannot nest or interlock in automated equipment.

SPIROL Engineering recommended a light duty high carbon steel Coiled Spring Pin for use in this application. Light Duty Coiled Spring Pins are designed with the enhanced flexibility required for installation in soft host materials such as plastic and magnesium. This significantly reduced insertion force and eliminated the associated cracking and shaft run-out problems.


Light duty pins provide this flexibility while maintaining high strength in proportion to the materials in which they are installed. The Coiled Spring Pins’ superior chamfers or end condition corrected the skiving issue associated with the Slotted Pin and because they cannot nest or interlock in automated feed equipment the customer’s downtime was reduced. This standard Coiled Spring Pin provided an economical solution that increased efficiency, reduced scrap, and improved product quality. These benefits were provided while requiring no modification to the application or installation equipment.

Our staff of engineers will review your application needs and work with your design team to recommend the best solution.

Need help finding the right solution?

SPIROL offers complimentary Application Engineering support. We will assist on new designs as well as help resolve issues, and recommend cost savings on existing designs.

汽车进气歧管流量控制阀

进气歧管设计有四个流量控制阀和一个止动件,每个控制阀用两个直槽弹性圆柱销固定到同一个轴上。阀是铸镁制品,止动件是塑料制品。客户抱怨在装配时销容易卡在进给设备中,因而导致效率低下。直槽弹性圆柱销也有些质量方面的问题。这些问题包括:销插入力太大,造成孔壁材料剥落,销从轴上滑落。解决方案要能改进效率、降低或消除对基质材料的破坏、减小插入力以避免轴变形。

app coiled pin automotive intake manifold flow control valve
app coiled pin automotive intake manifold flow control valve close up
所有的卷制弹性圆柱销在装配前的直径都是略大于孔径的。在销装入孔的过程中,销逐渐收缩以适应孔径,产生摩擦而达到紧固效果。直槽弹性圆柱销可以看作是“重型载荷”销,销材料较厚,弹性小。销的强度和弹性要和基质材料相匹配,否则会对基质材料造成破坏。比较柔软的材料,例如镁和塑料需要销有较大的弹性以降低插入力和极限应力。直槽弹性圆柱销的导入角是冲压的,该生产工艺对导入角的控制比使用模成型工艺要差,卷制弹性圆柱销的导入角是使用后一个工艺制成的。卷制弹性圆柱销的导入角是对称的,能平稳地融入孔径中。这就避免了出现在直槽弹性圆柱销中剥脱及孔位对准问题。卷制弹性圆柱销是有缝而不是开口,因此在自动化设备中不会卡住。

在该应用中,SPIROL 工程师推荐使用轻型载荷高碳钢卷制弹性圆柱销。轻型载荷卷制弹性圆柱销的设计有增强灵活性的特点,该型号销用在镁和塑料等较软的基质材料上。这就大大降低了插入力,消除了可能的开裂及轴脱落问题。

轻型载荷销弹性和强度适中,和母材配合好。卷制弹性圆柱销导入角平滑和底端平整避免了直槽弹性圆柱销产生的表面研磨问题,它们在进给设备中不会卡住,因此机器停机时间减少。我们这款标准卷制弹性圆柱销是一个经济的解决方案,可提高效率,降低报废率,改进产品质量。而且无需对现有应用和装配设备进行更改。

我们的工程师将分析您的应用需求,和您的设计团队一起推荐最佳的解决方案。

需要帮助找到最佳方案?

SPIROL 提供免费的应用工程支持。我们将协助新设计,帮助解决问题,并提供节省现有设计成本的建议。