Circular Saw

The customer is currently using a standard duty Coiled Spring Pin for use as a hinge pin in a circular saw blade guard application. An engineering review was generated to review this application because the customer complained of excessively high insertion forces.

The customer had two different assembly lines that were used to install the Coiled Spring Pin. All of the insertion problems were experienced on the fully automated line that had less than half of the insertion force of the semi-automated line. Based on empirically derived insertion data for the Coiled Spring Pin, the automated line had a cylinder that was undersized for this application.
app coiled pin circular saw
app coiled pin circular saw close up
coiled pins
SPIROL Coiled Spring Pins
The customer did not provide any shear strength requirements for the Coiled Spring Pin in this application. A simple option for the customer, which would require no changes to the automation equipment or the hole sizes in the components, would be to change to a light duty pin. The insertion force for the same Coiled Spring Pin in light duty is approximately half that of the standard duty pin in the same application.

There were several other observations and recommendations by Engineering. The customer was using a tapered disappearing pin to align the holes. The disappearing pin diameter measured from .211 to .250. This means that there was a tendency for the top holes to be misaligned due to the severe taper. The diameter of this alignment pin should be .252 for its’ entire length.

The insertion quill also had slightly rounded edges. The quill was smaller than the diameter of the Coiled Spring Pin; therefore, the quill was pressing on the inner coils, which increased the insertion force.

SPIROL stressed that it is important that the assembly be supported/clamped to limit the cantilever lifting action during insertion.

Need help finding the right solution?

SPIROL offers complimentary Application Engineering support. We will assist on new designs as well as help resolve issues, and recommend cost savings on existing designs.

电圆锯

该客户使用标准型卷制弹性圆柱销作为铰链销用在圆锯护齿套上。客户抱怨该款销装配时太费力,SPIROL 对该应用进行了应用分析。

客户有两条装配线来装配卷制弹性圆柱销。所有问题都发生在全自动装配线上,全自动装配线所需的插入力比半自动装配线所需的插入力的一半还要少。根据卷制弹性圆柱销插入力的实验数据,分析得出的结论是自动装配线上的滚筒尺寸偏小。
app coiled pin circular saw
app coiled pin circular saw close up
coiled pins
卷制弹性圆柱销
客户的这个应用中对卷制弹性圆柱销没有剪切强度要求。针对该客户,一个简单有效的方法就是改用轻型载荷销,这样就不用对自动装配设备或者孔径进行改动。在相同应用中使用同样的卷制弹性圆柱销,轻型载荷销的插入力大约只有标准型销的一半。

工程师根据观察还提出其它建议。客户使用的是锥形隐式销来对准孔。隐式销直径从 0.211 到 0.250 英寸不等。这样的话因为过大的锥度有可能导致孔顶端定位不准。因此该对准定位圆柱销直径应为 0.252 的全长销。

插销孔也要有轻微弧形边。而且销孔要比弹性圆柱销的直径小些;因此,插销孔在内部受压,也增加了插入力。

SPIROL 强调在装销过程中,装配件应当被支撑住或夹住以限制装配中悬壁的提升次数。

需要帮助找到最佳方案?

SPIROL 提供免费的应用工程支持。我们将协助新设计,帮助解决问题,并提供节省现有设计成本的建议。