Lemon-Lime Press

The customer manufactures and distributes quality kitchen utensils. The lemon-lime juicer they make is composed of two enamel covered zinc die castings that are pinned together. The original design utilized a semi-tubular aluminum Rivet as the hinge pin.

The aluminum Rivet is softer than the housing material and wears during normal use of the juicer. Radial grooves are cut into the aluminum Rivet at the point of contact with the host material. These grooves weaken the strength of the Rivet. The aluminum Rivet wore really quickly if the holes in the die castings were not aligned. The wear and/or hole misalignment resulted in a premature failure during use of the juicer, and actually failed while in the consumer’s hand. These quality failures negatively impacted the quality image under which this customer markets it products.

Another quality issue with the use of a Rivet in this soft assembly was a result of the fact that Rivets require secondary operations to head (or "clinch") the parts in order to hold the assembly together. At times, the juicer assembly was bent, chipped or otherwise damaged during this "clinching" process. The cost associated with the secondary clinching operation and scrap resulted in lower profits.
app coiled pin lemon press before
app coiled pin lemon press broken
Product failure due to the use of a semi-tubular aluminum rivet.
app coiled pin lemon press after
SPIROL Coiled Spring Pin as a hinge pin
SPIROL Engineering recommended the replacement of the aluminum Rivet with a stainless steel Coiled Spring Pin.

The specified SPIROL Coiled Pin, CLDP .125 X 1.375 MCK, provides several performance benefits over the aluminum Rivet. The double shear value of a 5056 aluminum Rivet is approximately 650 lbs. The Coiled Pin offers a minimum double shear value of 1,400 lbs – a significant improvement over the Rivet. A hardened 420 stainless steel pin does not wear during constant contact with the host material. The SPIROL Coiled Pin continues to flex after insertion, so stresses are distributed equally throughout the pin and hole. Shock and vibration are absorbed by the pin – reducing wear on all components. A reduction in wear and increased shear strength provides a higher quality and longer life for the product. Moreover, stainless steel is approved for use in food preparation equipment.

The Coiled Pin eliminated the need for a riveting (or "clinching") operation which therefore reduced the cost of assembly. Since the clinching operation was removed, this also resulted in the elimination of scrap caused by broken and chipped components. The SPIROL Coiled Pin enabled the customer to sell a better product at a higher profit margin, without increasing their price to market.

Our staff of engineers will review your application needs and work with your design team to recommend the best solution.

Need help finding the right solution?

SPIROL offers complimentary Application Engineering support. We will assist on new designs as well as help resolve issues, and recommend cost savings on existing designs.

柠檬压汁器

客户是一家生产、销售高质量厨房用品的厂家。他们生产的柠檬压汁器由两片镀漆的锌压铸件连接而成。以前客户是用半空心铝铆钉充当铰链销。

铝铆钉比母材更软,正常压汁过程中铆钉会磨损,导致铆钉强度不够。如果铆钉和孔没对准,铆钉磨损非常快。铆钉的磨损、孔对不准会使压汁器提前失效,最终到客户手上也会失效。这些质量问题造成了严重的负面影响。

在柔软材料中使用铆钉的另外一个问题是铆钉装入孔内后仍然需要把它敲入。有时候,压汁器会被敲弯、挤破。二次铆接的成本和废品率使得该产品利润极低。
app coiled pin lemon press before
app coiled pin lemon press broken
由于使用半空心铝铆钉,产品失效。
app coiled pin lemon press after
SPIROL 卷制弹性圆柱销用作铰链销
SPIROL 的工程师推荐使用不锈钢卷制弹性圆柱销替代半空心铝铆钉。

SPIROL 推荐的卷制弹性圆柱销型号为 CLDP.125 X 1.375 MCK,它的性能优于铝铆钉。5056 铝铆钉的双剪切强度大约为 650 磅,卷制弹性圆柱销的双剪切强度最小为 1400 磅,剪切强度高很多。420 不锈钢销不会磨损。SPIROL 的卷制弹性圆柱销在装入孔后仍然有弹性,因此应力是均匀分布在销体和孔内。销缓冲了振动和冲击,降低了对部件的磨损。磨损减低,剪切强度增加,使得产品质量更稳定、产品寿命更长。另外,不锈钢也是食品器具认可的材料。

卷制弹性圆柱销不需要二次铆接,因而降低了部件成本。由于不需要二次铆接,因此也不会有因铆接而造成的产品破裂、废品等。SPIROL 的卷制弹性圆柱销使得客户的产品更有竞争优势,同时利润可观,也不增加产品本身价格。

我们的工程师将分析您的应用需求,和您的设计团队一起推荐最佳方案。

需要帮助找到最佳方案?

SPIROL 提供免费的应用工程支持。我们将协助新设计,帮助解决问题,并提供节省现有设计成本的建议。