Locating an Automotive Transmission Case to the Engine

An OEM was using a 16mm OD Ground Solid Dowel to locate the transmission to the back of the engine. Specified tolerance for alignment had the components be within 20 microns of alignment. This particular application was more demanding than most due to the weight of the two components to be aligned, and the somewhat erratic method of bringing these components together. The customer used manual guided hoists that result in the possibility of damage to the dowel, and or irregular forces that could cause the components to be misaligned. The customer approached SPIROL for cost-reduction suggestions.
app gd100 auto transmission case product
SPIROL Series GD100 Ground Hollow Dowel
app gd100 auto transmission case
app gd100 auto transmission case close up
SPIROL's initial investigation was to determine if the lowest cost solution would work, a standard SPIROL Spring Dowel. Upon testing and review it was determined that although this was the lowest cost, the overall alignment in this application was in the 60 micron tolerance range. The thin wall of this product also was susceptible to possible damage from the two heavy components being brought together in a somewhat erratic method.

SPIROL then approached the application using the standard Series GD100 Ground Hollow Dowels. These are heavy wall, precision ground products that offer a more rigid configuration and are more robust, which is better suited to the style of assembly used. The OD ground, butted seam dowel met the current specification for a hole size of 15.985/16.000 mm that was in the component and was easily incorporated into existing installation fixtures and equipment. The customer was able to attain a 30% cost savings on the program, and was able to easily transition to the design change as assembly equipment for the dowel needed little to no alteration. The function of the assembly remained consistent with the previous product.

SPIROL's value originated from the roll forming process where parts are fabricated from roll formed strip steel with little to no scrap or shavings. This process is usually 50% to 75% faster than machining and about equal to cold heading. The hollow dowel uses less material than the solid dowel, allowing further cost savings and overall vehicle weight savings. This value is then passed on to the customer in an effort to make them more competitive.

Need help finding the right solution?

SPIROL offers complimentary Application Engineering support. We will assist on new designs as well as help resolve issues, and recommend cost savings on existing designs.

将汽车变速箱壳体定位到引擎上

一家 OEM 厂家用一颗外径 16 毫米的精密实心定位销将变速箱壳体定位到引擎后部。两个部件的同心度要在 20 微米以内。由于相配合的两个部件重量较重,连接方式也不稳定,使得这个应用很有挑战性。客户使用手动升降臂装配,导致定位圆柱销有可能被破坏,不规则的用力也导致部件定位不准。客户向 SPIROL 寻求降低成本的建议。
app gd100 auto transmission case product
GD100 系列精密空心定位销
app gd100 auto transmission case
app gd100 auto transmission case close up
SPIROL 初步调查确定最低成本解决方案(SPIROL 标准弹性定位销)是否有用。经过测试和评估,虽然弹性定位销成本最低,但是本应用的总体公差范围是 60 微米,弹性定位销的壁厚薄,而相配合两个部件的重量重,有可能导致销被破坏。

于是,SPIROL 建议使用 GD100 系列精密空心定位销。该系列壁厚较厚,精加工的产品品质更稳定、强度更强,较适合本应用。定位圆柱销的外径无缝收尾,满足现有孔径 15.985/16.000 毫米的要求,使用现有的装配夹具和机器都可装配。客户可降低 30% 的成本,设计变更也很简单,因为装配机器无需调整。装配件的功能和之前也保持一致。

SPIROL 的价值源于我们的特殊生产过程,我们采用卷制技术,产品通过条钢卷制成型,无切割、无废料。该生产工艺通常比机械加工快 50% 到 75%,和冷镦工艺时间差不多。空心定位圆柱销比实心定位销用料少,进一步降低了成本并减轻了汽车的重量。这都使得最终产品在客户眼里更具竞争优势。

需要帮助找到最佳方案?

SPIROL 提供免费的应用工程支持。我们将协助新设计,帮助解决问题,并提供节省现有设计成本的建议。