Locator Pin in High Quality Gears

A manufacturer of high quality gears was experiencing difficulty installing a locator pin in a critical area. The pin also tended to work its way out of the assembly during use. It was vitally important that the pin was secured in the hole such that it would not fall out under extreme operating conditions.

A combination of factors contributed to the installation problem and pin walk-out such as the hole size, material hardness, surface finish within the hole, and sharp edges at the hole’s entry point.

Customer design-of-experiments and analysis indicated that there was a direct correlation between pin performance and installation force. If the force was too high, the pin or gear incurred damage. If the force was too low, the pin was at risk for walking out during the assembly life.
app auto solid pin locate pin high quality gears
Locator pin and a high quality metal gear.
app auto solid pin locate pin high quality gears load cell
Model CR Semi-Automatic Pin Inserter, designed for high force installations, enhanced with the load cell system.
SPIROL recommended that our standard Model CR Pin Insertion Machine be equipped with Force Monitoring. The integrated load cell was programmed with the minimum and maximum insertion force required to ensure defect free installation and a secure assembly. When an insertion was outside of the established parameters, the machine would shut down and a light flashed indicating that investigation was necessary. At this point the errant assembly would be removed, and a Supervisor or Manufacturing Engineer had to over-ride the machine before the operator could continue. Production would resume with no risk of introducing a bad assembly into the field.

Force Monitoring

The Model CR, a semi-automatic machine designed for moderate to high force installations, can be enhanced to incorporate the use of a load cell system, capable of determining the actual force required to install a specific pin. In addition, the data can be recorded in a PC and used for SPC monitoring.

A load cell is installed between the insertion cylinder and the insertion punch to measure the force required to install each pin. This data will be registered on the display unit, and can be accessed for analysis purposes.

The load cell display unit will be mounted in the machine control panel. The unit is then preset with a minimum and maximum force value. Should any of the installations require more or less force than the preset limits, the machine will shut down, and a red light will illuminate. To resume operation, a reset button has to be pressed. This can be a keyed switch, for management control. This system allows the error to be quickly diagnosed and corrective action taken. For absolute confidence in producing a quality assembly, this enhancement is extremely offers significant value.

As soon as the pin engages the hole, the force is translated by the load cell into electrical energy. The load cell controller accepts this voltage in the form of a signal, at a rate of 60 readings per second. As the pin nears full insertion depth, within .005”-.010” (0.13 mm - 0.25 mm), a sensor is tripped, halting the readings from reaching the controller. The peak value achieved between the start of the insertion and the tripping of the sensor is then displayed on the screen. This value is then compared against two set points, a low, and a high, as determined by the manufacturing management. If the value is less than the low or greater than the high set points, a fault indicator illuminates. There are three indicator lights — Amber LOW, Green OK, Amber HIGH. Should the pin fail to reach the trip sensor (not deep enough), both the amber lights will flash at high speed, indicating an errant insertion. Data Acquisition Option (for SPC or capability studies): Communication cables will be provided to allow extraction of the data from the gauge control unit, sending it to a customer supplied PC, where it can be manipulated by any of several different programs, including Excel ™.

Need help finding the right solution?

SPIROL offers complimentary Application Engineering support. We will assist on new designs as well as help resolve issues, and recommend cost savings on existing designs.

高品质齿轮上的定位圆柱销

一家生产高品质齿轮的制造商在关键区域装配销时遇到问题。在使用过程中,销会自行装配。将销固定在孔中,并且在最恶劣使用条件下也不会脱落,这一点非常重要。

多种因素都有可能使安装出问题或销脱落,例如孔大小、材料硬度、孔内的表面处理情况以及孔入口点的锐边。

客户的实验设计和分析表明销的性能与插入力直接相关。如果插入力过大,销或齿轮会受到损坏。如果插入力过小,销就会有脱落风险。
app auto solid pin locate pin high quality gears
定位销和高品质合金齿轮
app auto solid pin locate pin high quality gears load cell
SPIROL CR 型半自动插销机设计用于大力装配,采用压力传感器系统来增强其功能,能够确定安装特定销所需的实际用力。数据可以记录在计算机中用于 SPC 监控。
SPIROL 推荐标准的 CR 型插销机,同时配备插入力监控。集成压力传感器是使用所需的最小和最大插入力编程的。当插入力在制定参数之外时,机器关闭,灯光闪动,说明需要调查。这时就会取消错误的装配,检查员或制造工程师不得不在操作员继续操作前搁置机器。生产不会受影响。

插入力监控

CR 型半自动机器设计用于缓和大力装配,可以采用压力传感器系统来增强其功能,能够确定安装特定销所需的实际用力。另外,数据可以记录在计算机中用于 SPC 监控。

压力传感器安装在插入圆筒与插入冲床之间,测量安装每个销所需的力量。该数据会记录在显示装置上,可供分析使用。

压力传感器显示装置安装在机器控制面板中。然后在该装置上预设一个最小和最大力值。如果装配所需的力超出/低于预设限制,机器关闭,红色灯亮起。要恢复操作,请按复位按钮。复位按钮是按键开关,便于管理控制。该系统可以快速诊断错误并采取纠正措施。为了对高质量装配有绝对信心,该增强功能提供了重要的价值。

一旦销接触到孔,压力传感器将力转化成电能,压力传感器控制单元通过信号方式接收电压,每秒大约 60 次。随着销达到插入深度 0.005 - 0.010 英寸(0.13 - 0.25 毫米),感应器跳掉。从开始插入孔到感应器跳闸之间的峰值显示在屏幕上。这个值和生产管理部门确定的两个值(低值和高值)相比,如果该值小于最低值或高于最高值,出错显示灯会亮起。有三种指示灯---琥珀色(低)、绿色(正常)、琥珀色(高)。如果销接触不到跳闸感应器(插入深度不够),两个琥珀色灯将急促亮起,显示有故障。数据获取选项(SPC):电缆可以将数据从控制单元传输出去,发送到客户提供的电脑上,可以进行多项操作,包括 Excel™。

需要帮助找到最佳方案?

SPIROL 提供免费的应用工程支持。我们将协助新设计,帮助解决问题,并提供节省现有设计成本的建议。