Lower Engine Block

A lower engine block, sometimes referred to as a ladder frame or bedplate assembly, is designed to integrate the main bearing caps into a solid cast body. Most OEMs feel that producing an engine in a two-piece method offers a robust design that directly controls radial noise for improved NVH (noise, vibration & harshness). In every lower block application, some type of precision alignment is required between it and the primary engine block. In most applications with fixed bearing caps, the two pieces of the block are aligned and fastened prior to the main bore being machined. After the machining process, the two halves are disassembled to accommodate some internal sub-assembly and upon reassembly, the selected locating feature must support a two-point maximum tolerance of 50 microns.

Over the years, SPIROL has witnessed companies explore numerous alignment solutions for lower block applications. Traditionally, Machined Solid Dowels, Ground Pins, Solid Pins and/or Powder Metal Dowels have been used. Today, there are much more cost-effective options available to achieve the desired alignment between components.
ground hollow dowel
SPIROL's GD100 can maintain critical alignment up to 20 µm.
app gd100 lower engine block
Ten Ground Hollow Dowels are used in this lower engine block.
app gd100 lower engine block close up
Spring Alignment solutions, such as Spring Dowels, Dowel Bushings and Coiled Pins, should be considered for any alignment application because they offer the lowest installed cost. In applications with very tight positional tolerance requirements (less than or equal to 50 microns), there will be a need for precision alignment unless the manufacturer takes special care with hole processing. For precision alignment scenarios, SPIROL’s GD100 Ground Hollow Dowel is a fantastic alternative to Machined or Powder Metal Alignment Pins. SPIROL’s Ground Hollow Dowels are designed to be direct replacements for standard Ground Solid Dowels per ISO 8734. They are used where centerline tolerance and precision alignment are required and maintain critical alignment within 20 µm.

For this particular application, SPIROL Engineering recommended a standard ϕ10mm Ground Hollow Dowel to replace a Solid Machined Dowel. In doing so, the customer reduced their insertion forces and reduced the weight of the Dowel by over 50%. In addition, they were able to secure over $100,000 in annual cost savings!

Need help finding the right solution?

SPIROL offers complimentary Application Engineering support. We will assist on new designs as well as help resolve issues, and recommend cost savings on existing designs.

低型发动机体

低型发动机体,有时称为阶梯式框架或底板总成,设计为将主轴承盖整合到实心铸造体中。大多数 OEM 都认为按照两件式方法生产发动机可以获得更可靠的设计,可直接控制发出的噪音以改善 NVH(噪音、振动和粗暴度)。在每个低型机体应用中,其与发动机主体之间都要求某种类型的精确定位。在有关固定式轴承盖的大多数应用中,在机加工主缸之前,要定位并固定机体的两个部件。完成机加工过程后,将两半分解以安装一些内部子总成,并且重新装配后,选择的定位特性必须满足 50 微米的两点式最大公差。
ground hollow dowel
SPIROL 的 GD100 可以保持最多 20 µm 的严格定位。
app gd100 lower engine block
此低型发动机体使用了十个精密空心定位销。
app gd100 lower engine block close up
多年来,SPIROL 已见证各公司在探求无数的适用于低型机体应用的定位解决方案。传统上,机加工实心圆柱定位销、精密定位销、实心销和/或粉末金属圆柱定位销都已用过。如今,有许多更加成本高效的选件可用于实现所需要的部件定位。

任何定位应用都应考虑弹簧定位解决方案,例如弹性定位销、定位衬套和卷制定位销,因为其安装成本最低。在定位公差要求非常严格的应用中(低于或等于 50 微米),将需要精确定位,除非制造商在孔加工中特别细致。对于精确定位方案,SPIROL 的 GD100 精密空心定位销是机加工定位销或粉末金属定位销的极佳替代品。SPIROL 的精密空心定位销设计为符合 ISO 8734 的标准精密实心定位销的直接替换件。其适用于需要中心线公差和精确定位并且要求保持 20 µm 内严格定位的情况。

对于此特殊应用,SPIROL 工程师建议用标准的 ϕ10mm 精密空心定位销替换实心机加工定位销。通过这样做,客户减少其嵌入力,并且圆柱定位销的重量降低 50% 以上。此外,他们每年可以节省 $100,000 以上的成本!

需要帮助找到最佳方案?

SPIROL 提供免费的应用工程支持。我们将协助新设计,帮助解决问题,并提供节省现有设计成本的建议。