Intake Manifold

Over the past few years, plastic Intake Manifolds have gradually started to replace cast aluminum. Due to the fact that the plastic intake must be bolted / fastened to the engine, the use of a Compression Limiter is required to prevent the plastic manifold from cracking during assembly.

One customer originally designed a 6mm x 65mm brass bushing to be used in this specific application. There were no potential issues with the design of the brass bushing. However, the customer was familiar with SPIROL's roll-formed steel Compression Limiters and, with the intent of reducing production costs, decided to pursue this alternative. SPIROL had reviewed several different manifold applications and did recommend a steel roll-formed Compression Limiter as the lowest installed cost component.
app compression limiter intake manifold
app compression limiter intake manifold close up
app compression limiter cl200
CL200 Compression Limiters
Upon review, SPIROL Engineering recommended a standard split seam M6 x 65 CL200 Compression Limiter for this application. The customer was required to change their core pin to accommodate the recommended hole size for the roll-formed Compression Limiter.

The customer did provide pricing for the brass bushing, which was $0.225 / $0.30 per piece. SPIROL's standard split seam Compression Limiter was quoted at $0.15 per piece. The difference in pricing saved this particular customer $35,000.00 in their first year of production.

Our staff of engineers will review your application needs and work with your design team to recommend the best solution.

Need help finding the right solution?

SPIROL offers complimentary Application Engineering support. We will assist on new designs as well as help resolve issues, and recommend cost savings on existing designs.

进气歧管

在过去的几年中,塑料进气歧管也逐渐开始取代铸铝。由于必须将塑料进气管用螺栓固定到引擎上,就需要使用限压套来防止塑料歧管在装配过程中开裂。

客户原来设计了一个 6 毫米 x 65 毫米的黄铜定位衬套用于该应用。黄铜定位衬套的设计没有潜在的问题。然而,由于客户比较了解 SPIROL 的卷制成型钢限压套,又想要降低生产成本,所以决定采取这种替换方案。SPIROL 分析了几种不同的歧管应用,确实推荐使用卷制成型钢限压套,因为它是装配成本最低的部件。
app compression limiter intake manifold
app compression limiter intake manifold close up
app compression limiter cl200
CL200 限压套
经过评估,SPIROL 的工程师推荐该应用使用标准开缝型 M6 x 65 CL200 限压套。客户需要更换中心销,以适应推荐的孔尺寸,使用卷制成型限压套。

客户给出的黄铜定位衬套的价格为每个 0.225 / 0.30 美元。SPIROL 的标准开缝型限压套报价每个 0.15 美元。价格上的差异使客户在第一年的生产中就节省了 35,000.00 美元。

我们的工程师将评估您的应用需要,和您的设计团队一起推荐最佳解决方案。

需要帮助找到最佳方案?

SPIROL 提供免费的应用工程支持。我们将协助新设计,帮助解决问题,并提供节省现有设计成本的建议。