Laparoscopic Surgical Device

A medical device manufacturer was using a Swiss style CNC-machined Knurled Solid Pin in a surgical device. This specific device is used as a “grasper” to allow the surgeon to operate through a laparoscopic port versus having to fully open-up the patient to perform the surgical procedure. The pin is used to drive the jaw movement at the distal end of the device. During pin installation, the customer was experiencing high insertion force, bending of the pins, damage to the sub-assembly, and generation of metallic debris. Since this device is meant to go inside the human body, the possibility of introducing metal chips or shavings is completely unacceptable.
app coiled pin laparoscopic device incorrect
Original assembly using Knurled Solid Pin.
app coiled pin laparoscopic device comparison
Metallic debris and damage to the sub-assembly with Knurled Solid Pin vs. clean installation with Coiled Spring Pin.
app coiled pin laparoscopic device correct
Improved assembly design using Light Duty Coiled Spring PIn.
One issue identified immediately was that pins made of 303 stainless steel with no subsequent heat treatment were being installed into a hardened 416 stainless steel shaft; a situation conducive to debris generation from the softer 303 stainless steel knurls. SPIROL performed a number of installation tests to validate this theory, and it was confirmed that the knurls of the softer Knurled Solid Pin were in fact shaving off and creating the observed metallic debris. The combination of the incompatible hardnesses of pin and host materials and the variation in the size (outer diameter) of the pin were determined to be the root causes of the debris generation, as well as the high insertion force, pin bending, and associated sub-assembly damage.

To address all of these issues, SPIROL recommended replacing the Solid Pin with a heat treated, 420 stainless steel Light Duty Coiled Spring Pin. The flexibility of Coiled Pin facilitates a low insertion force while providing adequate retention without protruding knurls damaging the hole and generating debris. A Light Duty pin provides the appropriate balance of flexibility and strength for this application. The fact that the pin is made from hardened 420 stainless steel provides the necessary corrosion resistance without risk of being damaged by the 416 stainless host during installation. Subsequent testing of the Coiled Spring Pins revealed a clean installation that required significantly less force - with no evidence of burrs or shavings and no damage to the sub-assembly.

By replacing the Solid Knurled Pin with a Light Duty Coiled Spring pin, the manufacturer permanently resolved all of the issues that they previously experienced with the Solid Pin in their medical device. Along with this crucial performance aspect, the manufacturer also benefited from the cost reduction associated with switching from a CNC-machined pin to a roll-formed Coiled Pin.

Our staff of engineers will review your application needs and work with your design team to recommend the best solution.

Need help finding the right solution?

SPIROL offers complimentary Application Engineering support. We will assist on new designs as well as help resolve issues, and recommend cost savings on existing designs.

腹腔镜外科手术设备

医疗设备制造商在外科手术中使用瑞士风格的数控机床加工的实心滚花销。这种特定设备用作“抓紧器”让外科医生使用腹腔镜端口而不是完全打开患者身体进行外科手术操作。此销用来在设备远端驱动钳口移动。在销安装过程中,客户遇到很大的插入力,感受销的弯曲和对子装配体的破坏,并会产生金属碎片。由于考虑到此设备进入人体内部,产生金属碎屑或刨花是完全不可接受的。
app coiled pin laparoscopic device incorrect
使用实心滚花销的原始装配。
app coiled pin laparoscopic device comparison
使用实心滚花销产生碎屑并损坏子装配体对比使用卷制弹性圆柱销的省力安装。
app coiled pin laparoscopic device correct
使用轻型载荷卷制弹性圆柱销改进的装配设计。
立即意识到的一个问题是使用无后续热处理的 303 不锈钢制成的销被安装到硬化的 416 不锈钢轴中;这样容易从较软的 303 不锈钢滚花产生碎屑。SPIROL 执行了大量安装测试验证这一理论,测试证明较软的实心滚花销的滚花确实由于剃刮产生可见的金属碎屑。销和基质材料硬度不相容以及销尺寸(外径)的差异确定为产生碎屑、高插入力、销弯曲和相关子装配体损坏的根源。

为解决所有这些问题,SPIROL 建议使用热处理的 420 不锈钢轻型载荷卷制弹性圆柱销替换实心销。卷制弹性圆柱销的柔韧性帮助产生较小的插入力同时提供充足的紧固力,无需伸出滚花破坏孔洞和产生碎屑。轻型载荷销在应用的柔韧性和力度之间提供合适的平衡。使用硬化 420 不锈钢制造的销提供必需的防腐能力,在安装过程中不会产生被 416 不锈钢基质损坏的风险。卷制弹性圆柱销的后续测试表明安装需要很小的力量,很省力 - 没有毛刺或刨花,也不会对子装配体造成损坏。

制造商通过将实心滚花销替换为轻型载荷卷制弹性圆柱销,永久解决了先前在医疗设备中使用实心销所遇到的所有问题。制造商不仅受益于这一重大的性能领域,而且降低了从数控机床加工销转换为卷制成型的弹性圆柱销的相关成本。

我们的工程师将分析您的应用需求,和您的设计团队一起推荐最佳方案。

需要帮助找到最佳方案?

SPIROL 提供免费的应用工程支持。我们将协助新设计,帮助解决问题,并提供节省现有设计成本的建议。