Mechanical Braking System

Braking systems for Off Highway equipment are commonly designed to be hydraulically actuated. In most cases, braking occurs when pressurized fluid compresses stationary plates against plates that rotate with the drive shaft. The amount of friction between each set of plates controls the deceleration of the vehicle. Without an additional fail safe system, this design alone has limited reliability. If a hydraulic seal is compromised, or the hydraulic cylinder loses pressure for any reason, the brakes fail.
app disc spring mechanical brake system
app disc spring mechanical brake system stacking
Disc Springs stacked in series.
standard disc springs
The mechanical back-up design uses SPIROL® Disc Springs. Under normal circumstances, the hydraulic system holds a constant pressure on Disc Springs stacked in series. If pressure fails to be maintained, the stack of Disc Springs decompresses to actuate the braking mechanism. A compression spring or wave spring is not capable of providing the force required (in the space available) to actuate the brakes. The reliability of this safety system is dependent on the consistent performance of Disc Springs. In this critical application, the Disc Spring’s performance and level of predictability improves product quality and ensures overall safety.

SPIROL® Disc Springs have a high capacity to consistently store releasable mechanical energy.

The conical design of SPIROL® Disc Springs makes their spring characteristics and performance more predictable than traditional compression springs. Disc Springs are also capable of providing more force in less space than a compression spring or wave spring. They are commonly stacked in multiples to achieve application specific spring rates: a stack in series provides less force over more travel; a stack in parallel provides more force over less travel. The precise tolerances of each individual Disc Spring provides unparalleled performance predictability when they are stacked (either in series or in parallel).

SPIROL® Disc Springs also allow fatigue endurance to be predicted. Stress analysis enables the minimum cycle life of Disc Springs (singularly or stacked) to be calculated as a part of the application’s design.

Need help finding the right solution?

SPIROL offers complimentary Application Engineering support. We will assist on new designs as well as help resolve issues, and recommend cost savings on existing designs.

机械制动系统

非公路用设备的制动系统通常都是设计为液压驱动式。在大部分情况下,在承压流体使固定板压到随传动轴旋转的板上时产生制动。每套刹车板之间的摩擦控制车辆的减速。如果没有额外的安全系统,这个设计本身的可靠性非常有限。如果用液压密封垫,或液压气缸压力消失,刹车系统将失灵。
app disc spring mechanical brake system
app disc spring mechanical brake system stacking
碟形弹簧按系列堆叠。
standard disc springs
采用 SPIROL® 的碟形弹簧。通常情况下,液压系统在成组的碟形弹簧上压力很稳定。如果压力失衡,碟形弹簧组解压以启动刹车系统。压缩弹簧或波形弹簧在同样空间下不能提供足够的力启动刹车系统。碟形弹簧的稳定性影响本安全系统的可靠性。在这个重要的应用中,碟形弹簧改进了产品品质,保证了安全性。

SPIROL® 碟形弹簧稳定性好,能保存机械能量。

SPIROL 碟形弹簧的锥度设计使得它的弹簧特性和性能比传统压缩弹簧更有可预见性。碟形弹簧相比较压缩弹簧和波形弹簧,能在较小空间内产生较大的力:他们通常多个堆叠以达到适合应用需要的弹簧刚度:成组堆叠用力较小、活动范围更大;平行堆叠力量更大、活动范围更小。每个碟形弹簧的公差精确,性能有可预见性(不管是成堆还是平行堆叠)。

SPIROL® 碟形弹簧同样能预测疲劳寿命,应力分析可以测算出碟形弹簧的最小生命周期。

需要帮助找到最佳方案?

SPIROL 提供免费的应用工程支持。我们将协助新设计,帮助解决问题,并提供节省现有设计成本的建议。